Mongoose Board

The board of directors comprises of a non executive chairman, three executive directors and up to 6 non-executive directors, one elected by the staff, three nominated by the community groups we work with and two seconded from the investors.

Sir Ed Davey – Ed is a trained economist and was a management consultant before being elected in 1997. He was the MP for Kingston and Surbiton for 18 years, serving on the front bench of the Liberal Democrats for most of that time. During the Coalition Government, he first served as a Business Minister under Vince Cable, where he was responsible for, amongst other things, Trade and Investment Policy, Corporate Governance and Competition and Consumer Affairs Policy. In February 2012, he became the Secretary of State for Energy and Climate Change, where he oversaw the largest ever increase in renewable energy and published Britain’s first ever Community Energy Strategy.

Jan-Willem Bode – CEO. Jan-Willem is an experienced manager, consultant and project developer with strong financial structuring skills in the renewable energy and climate change field. He set up, re-financed and exited OneCarbon, a carbon credit company, and was responsible for various investment products in the carbon credit and renewable energy arena. He is also an informal investor in start up companies in the sustainability and new economy space.

Jeff Kenna – Commercial Director. Jeff has a PhD in solar energy from Cardiff University. In 1982 he co-founded Energy for Sustainable Development Ltd which spun out several successful businesses including Camco Clean Energy plc which was listed on the London Stock Exchange with Jeff as CEO. Since 2011 he has been MD of BWCE and is non-executive Chairman of Camco.

David Bunker – Finance Director & Company Secretary. David is a chartered accountant and member of the Academy of Experts with over 20 years’ experience in public practice. He has a long standing interest in sustainability issues, serving for many years as a trustee of the Centre for Sustainable Energy and is currently a director of Windcluster 2000 Ltd, a wind farm complex in Cumbria. He has been the Finance Director of BWCE since its inception.

Peter Andrews – Non exec elected by staff. Peter was a founding director of BWCE. He career spans from teaching to sales and he has a small publishing business

Simon Wilde – Non Exec Investor. Simon is an Investment Banker and has specialized in the energy sector. He is now part time at McQuarie Bank and teaches at University of West England.

Peter Medlock – Non Exec Investor. Pete is an Executive at SITEC and responsible for operations, project management and treasury management at group level.

Pete Capener – Non Exec. Pete was CEO of the Centre for Sustainable Energy, a founder of BWCE, Chair of BWCE, founding chair of Community Energy England. He was awarded an MBE in 2014 for his work on Community Energy.

Paul Thurston –  Non Exec. Paul was a senior manager in the Probation Service taking early retirement in 2008 to set up a management consultancy business. He is a director of Low Carbon Gordano.

John Watson – Non Exec. John is an electrical engineer with 12 years public service in the military and over 30 years experience in industry commercial and public sector prime contracting. He is a director of Wiltshire Wildlife Community Energy.